top of page
Search

Goodbye 2021 and Hello 2022!

David Black interviews Glen Cook, Anastasia C Kouloukas and Vixey Teh for the Australian Short Film Network Journal.



David Black looking smug, before the covid lockdowns


Damn … 2021was one crazy year! I’m in Melbourne and it felt that we spent most of our time in lock down. It was a hard time to keep the ball moving for actors and crew, but some were quite versatile and thought outside of the box.


Today I’m chatting to Glen Cook, Anastasia C Kouloukas and Vixey Teh about 2021 and will be getting their insights into what we might expect in 2022.



Anastasia C Kouloukas



DB – Hi everyone, I’m David Black, pronouns he, him, his. How are you all doing? I want to know what challenges you faced in 2021, as film makers and actors, and how you overcame them?


AK – Hi David 😊, I’m doing well. The challenges I faced over 2021 were finding a balance between housework and film work in between lock downs of course! Getting back into script work as an actor was a little nerve wracking but was easier once I sat down and put the work in, it was like nothing had changed. I also bought some new phone accessories for filming so I can do some content creation next year!


GC – I think the biggest problem, and it really affected everyone, is the fact we got started and were moving to recovery from the 2020 year of lock downs only to find we had to lock down again.


It all felt like a false start and by time we had go to the other side, we are exhausted from it all. There were some films made over the lock down time, but it becomes difficult with masks and limited space for people. As the saying goes, if you’re going through hell, just keep going, you’ll get to the other side.


VT – 2021 has been a big year for me. With quite a lot happening. I have been involved with quite a few projects just powering through while sticking to all the Covid restrictions. I have been incredibly lucky and blessed with the fact that I almost always managed to get filming done before a lock down occurred. I even managed to cross a state boarder the day before it was closed.


Three projects stand out to me. One was with my university SAE Creative Institute, titled "Chained to Traditions" addressing abuse and seeking to tell the story of women trapped in those situations. Which has won a few awards in the festival circuit.


The other was when we filmed "Game of Groans" which will be coming soon.


It was an overwhelming feeling to be back on the set with David and the cast and crew. After being separated from them for almost 2 years, due to Covid I was just so overjoyed to see everyone again. We hugged we cried, it was amazing. The whole vibe on that set was just fantastic. I think everyone was just thrilled to be on a film set all together again.


The third one was "Toxic Alien Zombie Babes" we have been filming parts which we could separately and with green screen. It was quite challenging to do in Covid circumstances but that often breeds creativity. This will also be coming soon too. It is wonderful to work with Gerardo Chierchia again. He is a director with such great vision and talent. Very often we will see a set up with green screen and cannot imagine what it would look like, then we see it after editing and it is just magical!



Glen Cook


DB – I’m amazed at how resourceful you all are. Many of those that were active in our indie film industry, pre Covid, seem to have just disappeared. I’m guessing that the going got too tough for them. Currently we have a new strain of Covid and people are scared. What advice do you have for our fellow colleagues in the indie film scene?


AK- - Be sensible and sensitive around your colleagues. Follow Covid protocols so we can all safely film together. Don’t be afraid to make your own YouTube Channel and post your own work. Learn how to set up a camera/phone/your webcam to be able to film yourself and pick the best shots to edit yourself a showreel. It’ll take the pressure out of finding someone else to do it!


GC – I'm really going to sound boring. Just keep going!!


VT – I have always been quite diligent with hygiene and thought it was quite normal to use hand sanitiser and wash my hands before and after eating meals or using the bathroom or touching common surfaces such as trolleys. To me I wondered what people had been doing all this time before Covid.


I think as with any film set one should always follow the safety rules and procedures with the same care they would with any stunts or weapons. Just keep to the rules, do what you must to keep the show on the road and if at any point you feel you might be ill or exposed to anything dangerous make sure you are tested and that your producer and AD know.


Also, masks are cool, you can look like a ninja or a pirate. There are so many cool and funky patterns. If you're not facing the screen it's totally OK to sport something fashionable while also keeping everyone around you safe. There are many things to be afraid of in the horror business, masks are not one of them, they are fun and scary in a good way.



Vixey Teh



DB – I found that over the last two years, zoom meetings and podcasting really took off and became a necessary part of publicity and promotion. Are there any other technological changes that came along, or are just emerging that we should be looking out for?


AK – I agree, Zoom and other live streaming services are a fantastic way to have online conversations and discussions as well as podcasts.


I’d add using music applications on phones, tablets and ipads to edit sound for videos as they have evolved a bit too. So you don’t feel restricted if you only have a phone, a tablet or an iPad to film on and can use a variety of music and video apps to edit your work.


In 2020 I filmed a short film assignment on my tablet (CutUp Insomnia on my YouTube Channel) and edited it together using Adobe Premiere clip (very limited access now) and edited the sound/soundtrack on Soundcamp.


GC – Yeah I have heard of this thing called high speed broad band. Its' really taken off around the world, and something like this will be a great use to this country with the way meetings are conducted, and indeed how we communicate. Film data could be shared easy, photos, conferencing without drop outs. Imagine that!


VT – There has been quite a lot of growth in the online delivery of media during Covid. While this is appropriate and even required for the safety of viewers, there is still the novelty of seeing a film in the cinema or at a festival which will always be a unique experience. Having friends, family and even strangers laughing along at the same joke or screaming at the same jump scare is a sacred cultural ritual amongst cinephiles, romantic dates and families.


Additionally, the call for multi-platform experiences including 3D and VR has increased with many people buying their own systems for their home cinemas.


We don't call it the lounge anymore, it's the home cinema. I myself am still developing a project that extends the participatory documentary narrative into including actual viewer participation via gameplay.



On set, in between lock downs


DB – Now, I need you all to pull out your crystal balls and tell us what 2022 is going to bring? What sort of big changes do you see happening, and how should we prepare?


AK – 2022 will be more positive and easier than 2020 and 2021. Big changes that I see happening are more collaborative opportunities and a combination of online streaming and offline filming. There will be chances to film in person but they will probably be heavily moderated.


Preparations I would recommend are: buying a tripod, learning to set up a camera or any device that you have suitable for filming, learning a basic lighting set up, and learn to edit; a plus is having an existing YouTube Channel or making one for your work.


Learning the basics of filming and editing will help a long way in literally making your own work, editing a showreel and adding skills to your acting skillset.


GC – Well I hope we embrace this high speed broad band to be honest. That would be so useful.


Honestly, the way the past two years have been though its harder to pick than a broken nose where things will change to and what is left when the dust settles. I would like to think that there will be some more wonderful content being created around the globe and that good writing will return to western cinema


VT – Given all the curve crystal balls that have been flying at me lately, my whole plan will be to breath deep and DIVE IN!


All I know is I can only expect the unexpected. I have been told by quite a few people who are force sensitive or more wise, that there will be a lot of good things in the future. Almost like there is an equal opposite reaction to all the awful that happens there will be awesome that happens.


So I wish everyone all the best of luck. May everyone who survived 2021 find some love, happiness and peace in the future.



Vixey all masked up and ready to shoot!


DB – Thanks for chatting to me today everyone. How can our readers follow your work?






79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page