top of page
Search

Victorious Vixey

David Black interviews Vixey Teh for the Australian Short Film Network Journal



When it comes to my own personal filmmaking, Vixey has been invaluable. She’s done quite a few tertiary level courses in filmmaking, so has been able to move from being in front of the camera to almost any crew job that needs doing. I first worked with Vixey when she arrived on the set of one of my music videos, and then a couple of weeks later when I filmed “Dark Night of the Zomboogies” back in 2017.


You would think that I would know her by now, but we get so busy on sets that I realised that there is so much more that I don’t know. Today’s interview is my sneaky attempt to pry, without her working it out … so sssssssh. Don’t tell her!





DB – Hi Vixey. Great to chat to you again. Ummmm …. Where was it again that you first got into filmmaking and acting? You know, that whatchamacallit and thingamajig that you told me about way back when?


VT – Well actually my bestest friend in the whole wide world Rachael DARED me to! She said it would be so funny if I got an acting job before her classmate did. She had gone to a very prestigious acting school which will remain unnamed and her classmate was complaining it was hard to get a gig. She told me just go to these websites and talk to these people. The next day I had an agent, a gig on Neighbours as an extra and several parts in a handful of short film projects, including one where I met you!


The second I set foot on a film set of course it felt like home! After a just a few short weeks I was in so many of the student films too that all the staff and lecturers knew me and encouraged me to enrol. I am so very glad I did! I now have my 3rd Bahcelor’s Degree in Film Production with SAE.





DB – Yep, yep. Now I remember. We’ve been so busy that my memory goes foggy sometimes. Before I met you and we did “Dark Night of the Zomboogies”, you were involved with at least 6 films. That was in 2016. Amongst them were “Daughter”, “Afraid”, “Repeat” and “Ruby Tuesday”. Is this where you would say you cut your teeth and developed an interest in filmmaking?


VT – Yes indeed David! You took the words out of my now sharp and pointy mouth! “Daughter” by director Sarah Portelli starring Katherine Langford (who went on to be the star of 13 Reason’s Why) and it is a wonderful cautionary tale about not judging women as everyone is someone’s daughter. “Affraid” is more of a psychological horror where I am a ghostly spirit that haunts the mind of a murderer.


"Repeat” is a documentary exploring past lives and their effects on this life. Which was a lot more of a serious view of the topic of past lives, than our little comedy “Transgression Regression” which you and I made.


“Ruby Tuesday is an edgy teen rock and roll horror. I have thoroughly enjoyed a wide range of these experiences but I must say dark night of the Zomboogies was one of my favourite experiences. Everyone on set were all good friends and having a wicked fun time with all the prop organs! I think I still have the video somewhere where I was juggling the heart and singing “oops! I did it again, I played with your HEART!” hahaha.





DB – 2017 brings you to “Misunderstandings” where you have some lines. It’s around here that you seem to be moving from extra to cast. Am I right on this, or have I missed something?

VT – You are RIGHT on the button there David! Indeed at that very location we did go on to filming Misunderstandings and that was one of the first if not the very first main speaking role I had. I did have a couple of previous main roles but they were for silent films or music video or in the case of Afraid I laughed or screamed or opened my mouth and static came out but never really said anything, so yeah I think this was the first one where I was actually able to speak!





DB – From 2018, you pretty much are in the cast, or even the star. Let’s chat about that.


VT – Well I owe that all to you David! You’ve included me in our little rag tag family of cast and crew making our funny horror films, of which I am always grateful for. I always have such a wicked fun time on set with everyone, it just makes me GLOW!




DB – Jumping ahead, you are the big star as in Toxic Alien Zombie Babes From Outer Space. Was it on your bucket list that you would be Australia’s first Kaiju?


VT – It is all better than I could have ever imagined! I am very excited to be stomping on cities, munching on buildings, shooting lasers and such!



DB – Now Vixey, I know that you are a woman who’s mind is always working overtime. I am sure that you must have a lot of films and projects in the planning. Are you able to tell me about all of that? Huh? C’mon. Tell me!


VT – Oh I have a few little surprises but the viewers will have to stay tuned to find out more.

Currently, I am still promoting a short film “Chained To Tradition” which is in the festival circuit. All I can say about future projects is a documentary is in pre-production set to release next year (2022). It will have a participatory computer game event early in the year. I am also working with an animator for a short film. Of course, I hope to squeeze in a few more films with you David in between all these lockdowns.





DB – I have to be honest with you and tell you that everything you have said has been recorded and will be published on The Australian Short Film Network Journal. Seeing as I have already revealed all your secrets, you may as well give us a few links so that everyone can follow your work


VT –

151 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page