top of page
Search

Spotlight on Film Maker and Actor Michael Todorovic.


Michael Todorovic is an up and coming filmmaker/director and actor. His first short film titled Never Forgotten is about three men who witness a murder in their local neighbourhood and have to attend meetings together to help get over the trauma of the event. Never Forgotten won an award for Best Fiction Feature at The Changing Face International Film Festival.

We had the pleasure of interviewing Michael for The Australian Short Film Network Journal.

Welcome Michael Todorovic to the Australian Film Network Journal

Michael – Glad to be a part of this interview.

When did you realise that you wanted a career in film?

Michael – Late 2018, when I made the career change from basketball to acting. I made the right decision, better late than never.

What has been your biggest achievement so far?

Michael – Winning the 2019 Peridot Theatre Encouragement Award, for being the lead in 2 different one-act plays.

Can you tell us about your film Never Forgotten?

Michael - It’s about these 3 guys who witness a murder in their local neighborhood, and they think they need to seek help as a result. So, attending a trauma victims meeting, with the help of the Mediator, they discuss what happened and what they’re going through.


(Still from Never Forgotten)


What is your favourite Australian film?


Michael - Honestly a tough one, I have a few... but for the purpose of this question I’ll say “Tomorrow When the War Began”. I remember doing an analysis for this in English for year 8 back in 2010, not long after it came out, and I really enjoyed the film.

What other projects are you working on at the moment?

Michael - I’m not working on anything right now. I am just focusing on distributing my film and ensuring it reaches its full potential.

Do you feel that there is enough support for Australian film maker’s by funding bodies such as Screen Australia etc?

Michael – I don’t believe it would be appropriate for me to have an opinion on this specifically as I don’t know too much about this, but considering this is a question, I believe it is almost rhetorical and it’s an obvious no. However, what I will say is that there needs to be a bigger market for Australian-made films as we have some of the best talent – across the board, actors, directors, editors, writers etc., etc., - in the world.




What is your favourite genre of film?

Michael – Each genre has its own style and I love most genres, but you can’t go past a good drama film.

What film has made the most impact on you in the last 2 years?

Michael – Joker. Hands down. I have watched that 3 times in the cinemas alone, it is a masterclass performance.

Where would you like to see yourself in 5 years?

Michael - At the Oscars after-party holding onto my Best Actor award.

Any advice for Indie film makers?

Michael – I’ve never been to film school. Just, if you’re interested, try it. If you love it, then keep doing it. This just about goes for anyone in any line of work.


(Still from Never Forgotten)


If you could remake any film what would it be and why?

Michael – I would love to remake a modernized version of “A Streetcar Named Desire”, I love that film, strong characters and plot.

Who or what inspires you?

Michael – That is a list, and a long one. But ultimately an everyday inspiration for me is waking up, and truly understanding, I am an actor. A filmmaker. I get to tell stories, and/or make them. I get to do what I love every single day. If that isn’t enough inspiration, I don’t know what is.

Where can our readers find you?

Thank you for your time Michael

Michael – Thank you guys, I appreciate it and all the best with your film to Destiny West.



Trailer for NEVER FORGOTTEN

217 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page