top of page
Search

Spotlight film maker Kody Bramhall.


Kody Bramhall is a film maker pushing through an ever changing world to continue to create and emerge as an up and coming talent. His new short film titled Mum is about a daughter being tortured and help captive by her crazed mother and their toxic, dangerous relationship as it reaches its climax. I had the opportunity to ask Kody a few questions about himself, film and what inspires him.

Welcome to the Australian Film network journal Kody

KB – Thank you for letting me be a part of this. It is always wonderful to chat with fellow film connoisseurs!

When did you realise you wanted a career in film? KB – Funnily enough, when I was younger, I wanted to be an archaeologist after seeing the Indiana Jones films. However, I soon realized I didn’t want to be archaeologist, but rather I wanted to make those films I loved so much as a kid.

Who or what inspires you? KB - Film has always been a huge part of my childhood. Filmmakers such as; Steven Spielberg and George Lucas have always been the type of filmmakers I look up to. You can see the love and passion for the craft within their work. I want to highlight that same love and compassion in my own work. A more recent example is Jason Bateman. With his recent work on Ozark, we’ve seen his passion for not only acting, but directing too. I relate to that in many ways, as I try my best to verse myself in all areas of filmmaking. Whether that be editing, writing, directing or even acting. I believe these are skills that are incredibly important for a filmmaker to possess.





What is your favorite Australian film? KB – The Babadook (2014) is my favorite Australian film. I love the simplistic nature of the film. I’m quite a big fan of genre filmmaking and I think Australia needs more films like it. The film has an authentic, Australian feel. Through the sound design, locations and Mise-en-scene, the Australian identity is highlighted. As mentioned, I think Australia needs my genre filmmaking. However, when you can infuse the Australian identity within the work, it makes it so much more special. I tried to emulate the same feeling with Mum (2020).

If you could work with any film maker or actor, who would it be and why? KB – I would love to work with Timothée Chalamet as an actor. I really admire his versatility as an actor, with films such as; Call Me By Your Name and Beautiful Boy. I’ve been working on a lot of horror/thriller content recently. It would be awesome to see Chalamet in a scary film. I’d also really love to have a conversation with Steven Spielberg. Just being able to chat with him about his craft. I feel I’d learn so much. I’ve spent hours watching interviews with Spielberg and he’s such a passionate and intelligent filmmaker.




Describe your film making style in 5 words? KB - 5 words I’d use to describe my filmmaking style are; passion, personal, bombastic, self-aware and evolving.

Where did the inspiration come for your latest project Mum? KB – The genesis of the project came from wanting to take a very simple premise and amplify it, by placing it in a super-gritty world. At its heart, Mum tells the story of a toxic relationship between a mother and daughter. The character of Mum wishes to keep her daughter safe from the world. Mum is trying to accomplish a good thing. However, the idea is perverted. She sees actions like, chaining her daughter up as good. I thought it’d be cool to showcase this sick and twisted relationship.



Where would you like to see yourself in 5 years? KB – In 5 years’ time, I want to be working within the industry. Whether that be as an editor’s assistant, a boom operator, a writer, director or all of these things. I love filmmaking with all my heart. It has been a part of my DNA since I was very little. I would make little short films in my backyard. I want to continue to exhibit the same passion and energy into my work.

How has Covid affected your film making? KB – COVID has had many effects on the film industry. Particularly, with having to implement COVID-Safe protocols to ensure the cast and crew remain protected from this horrid virus. This meant we had to wear masks and face-shields. We had to social distance and more. This created issues such as; set-up times taking a lot longer than normal. However, I believe it benefitted us greatly. For example, we couldn’t really conduct scenes with actors up-close. So, I had to flex my creative muscles to think of new ways to shoot the fight scene. I think these restrictions lead to the creation of the greatest moment in the film. The fight scene with the chain!




What is your favorite genre of film? KB – I love all genres of film. I love comedy, due to the response you get from audiences. That, too, is the reason I love horror. It’s fun to sit around with your friends and jump and scream. I also love action and superhero films. My love for film is very vast. That’s why there isn’t one particular genre I like to stay in.




What was the last television series you binged? KB – Schitt’s Creek. Love that show!

What is next for Kody? KB – I’m currently in pre-production on Eloise, a thriller short film about an abusive relationship. We’re about to start shooting next week. The turn-around from Mum to Eloise is quite short. However, I’ve got a wonderful team to help bring my vision to life.




Where can our readers find you? KB – Readers can find me on my company’s, YouTube channel, Daylight Pictures. Otherwise, they can follow me on my social media like Instagram and Facebook.

Thank you for your time Kody.

KB – No, thank you. It has been a real pleasure being able to share my passion with the world!




210 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page