top of page
Search

Some Things Get Better With Age!

David Black interviews Karen Watson for the Australian Short Film Network Journal




Karen Watson is a skilled actress that has been quite active in the local indie film scene since at least 2017. I’ve had Karen on a few of my shoots too, including a steam punk short called “The Road to Hell is Still Undefined” and my schlocky, horror movie “Badass Bunyip”. The two of us have been so busy that I’ve never managed to chat to her about her career ….. until now!


DB – Hi Karen. Thanks for making the time to chat to me today. You seem to have emerged onto the local indie film scene around 2017, but I was wondering if you were active before in either film, or stage, or any related fields?


KW – Hi David and thank you for this opportunity.


Well from a very early age I have loved being the centre of attention and making people smile.

Dance has always been my passion so from the age of 3 I was a student in the local Ballet school,tap dancing become one of my many obsessions and I drove my mother insane with my constant tapping around the house morning, noon and night !


Every weekend I would gather the neighbourhood kids in our garage and choreograph little productions inspired by movies I had watched "Oklahoma" and "Annie get your gun' were some of my favourites and I often I dreamt of becoming the next Doris Day !


So whenever a family member celebrated an event we would put on a show all set up in the family garage complete with nanas floor and bedside lamps as lighting and Christmas time was always so much fun as we carolled our way around the neighbourhood.


Whenever there was a school production I would audition for any part that i could get and I loved attending weekly drama classes this all fueled my dreams of becoming a stage performer.

I married at an early age so motherhood replaced my passion for the stage as I wasn't in a supportive situation to encourage me to continue with my dream.


It wasnt until after my divorce my passion started to return and I regained more freedom to follow my dream when the family grew and flew the nest it was then I reignited that fire in my belly to perform once again.




DB – You’ve been in quite a few films to date. Amongst your early films were “The Road to Hell is Still Undefined.” I was pretty busy on that set, doing a bazillion things, so I didn’t really get to chat to everyone on the set. Can I ask you about your experience there … and please be kind.


KW – Well I must say David that I had such a blast playing the part of Horn girl on “The Road to Hell is still Undefined".


I still remember that it was a stifling hot 39 degee day so all I could feel was hot sticky sweat pouring down my body which was encased in a very tight , body hugging corsetted Steam punk costume complete with a rubber Malifacent head piece I think I lost several Kilos that Day !!


Apart from the heat we all still managed to keep up the humour by cooling off in the shady spots and splashing each other with water bottles so much banter and laughter especially the grand finale when we were all blown up !!


I loved working with such a great cast of creative talented people and was impressed with the professionalism of yourself David and your camera crew, the whole experience worked like clockwork.




DB – You have a mixture of extra work and actual roles. Both are vital for a good film, but I’d like to zero in on one of your roles. Marwa in “Nena” Tell us a bit about the character and how you approached bringing her to life.


KW –"Nena" Was a beautiful and moving story about a mother "Kawthar" who had a strong deeply religious beleif that her daughter Nena's sole purpose in life should be to finish school and concentrate on marriage and family, but Nena was an aspiring and talented art student and her dreams were not of marriage and family but of a brilliant career.


This was a classic mother daughter situation of customs and expectations, I played the part of Marwa the best friend and co-worker of Kawthar.


My role was to be sympathetic and supportive to my friend but also to gently try to help Kawthar to see that her daughter’s happiness in following her dream was also very important.


My research for the role was to speak to people from strict European culture who had experienced similar expectations in their life choices.


I myself could also relate to the lack of support in one following their dream as I had experienced similar in my own situation when I was married.




DB – You played a main role in “I’m Fine.” Tell us everything about that. How did that differ from your other work?


KW –Well David "I'm fine” was an opportunity which just fell into my lap when I least expected it.

I was contacted by aspiring Producer Carlia Capozza who had was about to complete her grad film as a final assessment.


Carlia had asked her teacher Mike Preston could he recommend a woman in her fifties, European looking, with a bubbly and loud personality and Mike had recommended me.


I felt so honoured as I had completed several acting classes through TAFTA previously a few years ago and Mike was my favourite teacher as we got along really well.


I played the part of Rebecca the mother of daughter Ava, Rebecca being an overprotective mum thought she had her daughters best interest at heart had organised a recently announced engagement celebration dinner with the family.


Rebecca progressively gets more dominant as the dinner progresses drinking countless glasses of red wine however Ava feels pressured as her dreams are not of marriage but has a secret which she announces at the end of the dinner which sends everyone reeling.


I found this project was different to previous work as the character was created for me and I hadn't had to go through the audition selection process, also the entire film was filmed on I phones and the result was very surprising, high quality and professional.


Since Carlia has graduated she now has her own production company and regularly contacts me for paid roles in music videos and films.




DB – You have quite a few films currently on the go Karen. Some in pre-production, some in filming and others in post. It’s an impressive list. Let’s round up with you telling us a bit about any that you are allowed to discuss, that stand out to you.


KW –Well at the moment David I have my fingers in several pies.

I have become a mature model and have been working with Mia stone photography and are now one of her main feature models on her website.


I am also in pre lockdown production of a 1940s Vintage Hollywood Glamour shoot with photographer James Taylor .




Also in post-production of a Melton City commercial for hard waste collection playing the part of a mum.


And post production of a feature film "Jett" with filmmaker Dia Taylor this is paid extra work.

And I'm part of a local musical thatre company " In Sync Entertainment" which also is on hold during lockdown.


I'm also dabbling in some home filming with the ring light trialing skin care products and recommending the products on instagram , My beauty therapy background has directed me this way during Covid times.


I also have the full green screen setup which I drag out occasionally to do some fun stuff whenever needed .


So you see David I'm trying to keep myself busy during this dreadful pandemic.

I'm really missing the adrenalin rush of filming and performing on stage but understand that we all need to stay safe and do the right thing until we can unpause that button and resume that dream !




DB – Karen, where can our viewers follow your work?


53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page