top of page
Search

Oz Femme Fatales of Horror Month with Destiny West

David Black interviews Destiny West of Oz Femme Fatales of Horror Month

Destiny West is one of the moderators that keeps the Australian Short Film Network alive, as well as the editor of The Australian Short Film Network Journal and the big boss at Oz Femme Fatales of Horror Month. I felt it would be remiss if she were to miss out on being interviewed.



DB – Thanks for taking the time to chat to me Destiny. Australian Short Film Network members might not be familiar with all the work you have done to get to this point, so I’d like to start digging. You were the editor of an American horror mag called “Red Scream”. Can you tell us a bit about that?


DW – Seems like a life time ago, (early 2000's) but sure. I was living in the UK at the time and was writing short stories and got 'discovered' by Todd Tjersland ( Necro Files, Faces of Gore) he would always egg me on to write something more disturbing. I summited one of those disturbing stories titled 'Anything Goes' to Red Scream Magazine and it was accepted. From there I started doing interviews for them in what was called 'Destiny's Dungeon'. So I would interview my victims in a dungeon scenario, basically it was an interview within a story and they would participate in the writing. It was such a fantastic time in my life because I got to interview so many of my idols, from Bruce Campbell to Ingrid Pitt, plus a lot of other horror elite and Metal Gods. I was also supervising the models for the magazine, that progressed to fiction editor, before finally the main boss wanted to pursue film and handed the reins fully to me. It was definitely a challenging time for me, I was running an American magazine remotely from Australia, managing a crew from all over the world, plus not really having time for my own writing. That was really a shame because just before I had taken over the reins of Red Scream, there had been an article about me for HWA in America saying I was the rising star of horror and I could end up as big as King. In the end it really started to get too much, the cost of printing etc, so we laid it to rest. Do I have any regrets? A few. I wish I had been more balanced and spent more time on my own writing career, but I made so many fantastic life long friends on the way, so I don't regret that part.



DB – Aside from magazines, you are also a published book author too. I believe that you have a story and a half to tell about your book “Lamia”?


DW – Just the title fills me with both love and hate. Again, I had been living in the UK at the time with my then fiancé who was the bassist in a famous metal band, I had to return to Australia as my step father was dying. I was feeling quite lost and I didn't even have a computer as I was staying at my mums house, so I wrote Lamia by hand in 2 weeks. It was bled out of me. Every character in that book is someone that I know, and Lamia is so much me, or a side of me. Not saying I have done even a fraction of the things she did in the book, I'd be locked away if I had. My first publisher was an absolute douche bag! I can't stress enough to writers that yes it is exciting when your manuscript gets accepted, but do not sign anything without a professional checking things over for you! These publishers took full advantage of me and I never got a cent, luckily my wonderful friend Stephen from Unearthed Films got me out of the contract. Unearthed republished the book and my wonderful dear friend Dr. Rev Mayers the blood artist/ tattooist did my book cover in his own blood. I believe I was the first person to have a vampire novel with a human blood cover.



DB – Moving toward the film industry, I’m told that you worked for Unearthed Films at one point? What did you do there?


DW – I met the guys from Unearthed Films at Screamfest in Florida one year, we had tables next to one another at the convention. We kept in contact over the years, like I said in previous answer, Stephen published Lamia under Unearthed Films, then we did a anthology titled Masters of Taboo: Cannibalism, which Stephen and I edited. I also have a story in there called Chubby Chasers. Stephen is in the handful of people I 100% trust on this planet. I am honestly so blessed to have this wonderful being in my life.



DB – I believe that you are making your very own film now. I’ve heard whispers about a feature. What’s the story there?


DW – My film company Fractured Visions Films with my partner Casper Jean Rimbaud have our first feature film coming out this year titled High Strangeness. It has been a really long haul, but definitely worth it. We did this feature on no budget and with just the two of us on crew. We've done everything, so it is going to be very short end credits. The film is based loosely on Casper's first novel Post Encounter and is about aliens. Casper has worked so hard on this film, he's a tad of a perfectionist but to our betterment. I am so blessed to have this amazing talented man in my life. We have also been blessed to have legendary film maker Philippe Mora (Mad Dog Morgan, Communion) on board as Executive Producer and possibly my favourite Aussie actor and friend Roger Ward doing the opening narration.

We had not intended on making this film. We had originally done a trailer for our film titled The Unhallowed which is a series of 4 films, but during the jumping through hoops trying to get funding, even though we had a letter of intent for WW distribution, we thought we would keep busy and make a short film, that ended up turning into a feature film. We couldn't be prouder though, and we have had some pretty good press on it. I think people are going to be absolutely stunned to see what we did for under $3000 and a lot of duct tape and imagination.



DB – Destiny, you are always full of surprises, so I just have to ask what your future plans are?


DW – After I take over the world? Okay, seriously.. I am doing a short film at the end of February, which is from an idea I have had fermenting in the dark recesses of my brain for awhile now. Hopefully by mid year we might finally get to start The Unhallowed, and I am also fronting an all female crew production this year for a film based on a classic piece of literature that has been adapted to film before, but I am going to do it with a twist.

I am also producing music videos which is definitely a new experience for me, but I am looking forward to doing more of them.

Apart from that, I will just be trying to stay sane in this crazy world and continue to support The Australian Short Film Network Journal and The Oz Femme Fatales of Horror.



DB – Where can our readers follow your work?


DW – You can find out more about me at www.fracturedvisionsfilms.com


58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page