top of page
Search

Oz Femme Fatale of Horror Sarah Stephenson.

In celebration of Oz Femme Fatales of Horror Month, I would like to welcome the multi-talented Sarah Stephenson.



SS – Thanks Oz Femme Fatales, it’s great to be here.


What draws you to horror? And when and why did your love of horror begin?


SS – I can’t pinpoint why horror has had a big impact on me, but I have always been drawn in by the plots and the atmosphere music used. By the time I finish watching a good horror movie I get the urge to watch more. My love of horrors films started when I was quite young. My father has a good collection of classic horror, as well as the newer releases, and he introduced this genre to me. I’m glad he did!


Could you please tell us about your film Attack of The Cat People?


SS – Attack of the Cat People is a tribute movie to the Universal Monster Classic ‘B’ films of the 1950’s. Films such as ‘The Creature from the Black Lagoon’, ‘Them’, ‘Tarantula’ inspired me to create this film. I love the simple story lines and how these movies generally get straight into the story without filling it up with unnecessary scenes that slow down the movie pacing.


You can find Attack of the Cat People on Vimeo on Demand.



You also made a documentary titled The Lockdown, could you please tell our readers about that?


SS- The Lockdown is a Documentary about Filmmakers and Actors and who they coped during Covid19. Many lost work opportunities and most had to reassess their work focusing on what they can do and not what they can’t. It is a learning documentary for future filmmakers and actors in case they confronted with similar issues during productions. This documentary has gained a lot of interest and has had a positive impact on many beginner filmmakers and actors.



Could you please tell us about Mia Morris’ Diary the series? I believe it is an adaptation of Bram Stoker’s Dracula?


SS – Mia Morris’ Diary started off as an end of the year short film project at Australian Institute of Advanced Studies. In 2018, I turned it into a 25 episode web series. Yes, the story is an modern adaptation of Bram Stoker’s Dracula. It’s about a girl named Mia Morris who is vlogging to her boyfriend who is studying overseas. Suddenly a lot of students are getting attacked around the university campus and it’s up to Mia and her friends to find the one responsible.

Our web series won many awards and nominations.



What is your favourite horror film and why?


SS – Tucker & Dale VS. Evil would have to be my favorite film. It’s a comedy horror and the reason I like it so much is how they do a role reversal. Throughout the film, the teenagers think Tucker and Dale are evil hillbillies but they have no idea that they’re nice down-to-earth kind hearted guys. There are two sides to the story in this movie. A great story line and great actors! What more do you need?


I have watched this film many times and I don’t get bored with it. I really love the way the characters misinterpret everything that is happening around. Everything they see or hear is taken the wrong way. It’s really funny but too far from reality.


Where would you like to see yourself in 5 years?


SS – I hope to become a well-known, international, filmmaker and creating memorable classic films of my own.


Are there any projects you are currently working on that you can tell our readers about?


SS – I am currently working on a web series titled, Prom Queen. It is a seven-part Teen-Slasher web series centered around a group of teenage girls who are receiving threating notes, days before prom. The story is a cross between Nancy Drew Mysteries & Prom Night. I was also inspired from ‘I Know What You Did Last Summer’ and ‘Scream’.


I’m also working on a Documentary sequel to The Lockdown called, ‘The Lockdown – Aftermath’. It’s about Filmmakers and Actors restarting their careers after Covid19.


Also, I’ve just commenced my third season of my podcast ‘Boys n Ghouls Film Review’. The podcasts analysis and discuss Horror, Science Fiction and Fantasy movies & TV series.



Do you have any advice for women wanting to embark on a career into film?


SS – Continue to follow your filmmaker dream & not to walk away when it gets hard.



Where can our readers find out more about you?


SS – You can find me at Black Cat Film Productions!





57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page