top of page
Search

Oz Femme Fatale of Horror Kate Jirelle

Celebrating Oz Femme Fatales of Horror Month with us is talented actress Kate Jirelle.

Thank you for joining us Kate.


(Photo by Mansoor Noor)


KJ - Thank you so much for having me!


When did you know that you wanted to become an actress?


KJ - Surprisingly enough, I don’t really have any one “defining moment” where I woke up and knew I wanted to be an actor. It’s been more of a slow burn, I think. Lot’s of elements coming together until I finally got my act together (pardon the pun) and realised this was the path for me. But that love of performance… of storytelling… it’s always been there under the surface.

I never met him, but my Great Grandfather Leonid von Riegen was a professional opera singer back in Germany. So, my grandfather (his son) used to tell me that performing was in my blood. Maybe that’s true. I’ve always loved the thrill of live performance especially, and been an avid reader and writer since I first learned the alphabet. I’ve always loved the art of storytelling - of engaging strangers in a way that impacts them and maybe lets them see a glimpse of a world or perspective they’ve never thought about before. For me, acting is just an extension of that artform.

If you want one “defining moment” though - a moment when I decided to “ be an actress” - the closest I could get was when I was playing Bella Manningham in a community theatre production of Gaslight. It was the most challenging role I’d ever played, and was one I’d had to really fight for in the audition. After our opening show an audience member came up to me and told me that like the character I’d played, she had been in an emotionally abusive relationship, and that when she watched me perform she “finally felt seen”. I remember being so touched and so humbled by that, but it also made me realise what a powerful gift theatre and performance could be.

Before that play I’d only really ever considered acting a hobby, but after that show I found myself wanting to take it more seriously. That’s what drove me to enrolling in the 12-month program at TAFTA (The Australian Film and Television Academy), which was the start of my acting career.


(Best Supporting Actress - The Tame Painter - Travelling Circus Productions)


What has been your favourite project to work on so far and why?


KJ - Oh man! That’s such a hard one to answer. I think every project I work on has its own special place in my heart. I honestly believe every project I’ve done has taught me something new to hold on to as I develop in my career and craft.

The project that jumps to the top of my mind though, is a short horror film called Trespass produced by group called Axmo Deus. The guys over at Axmo are just so talented and collaborative that the whole shoot from start to finish was an absolute blast. Honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so much on a set. I think in this industry, especially when you’re shooting heavy material like that often found in the horror genre in particular, it’s so important to enjoy working with the people on set with you. Trespass was my first film with the Axmo team, and since then I’ve worked with them both behind the camera and in front of it, and it has seriously been an absolute joy every single time.

On top of that, Trespass in particular I learned so much about what I was capable of as an actor.

The film was part of a wider web series made up of 1 minute horror films released on the first day of each month and due to COVID-related circumstances, Trespass was all written, filmed and edited and released in the space of about 5 days to meet that deadline.. It was a mad scramble, but you’d never guess it based on the final product. To this day it’s one of the projects that I’m most proud of being part of.



What is your favourite horror film and why?


KJ - Does The Gremlins count? I’m kind of joking… but also not. It’s a bit embarrassing to admit, but for someone who has acted in a fair few horror projects in the last few years I have seen a shockingly small amount of horror films. I blame The Gremlins for scarring me as a young child, and making me believe my cute stuffed animals might turn into terrifying little green monsters.

As a full blown adult who seems to be spending a lot of my career playing in the horror genre though, I’ve started wading into the world of horror movie viewing recently and leaving my irrational fear of little green monsters behind. Since doing that I’ve found myself more drawn to the psychological thriller/horror. Films like Sixth Sense or Shutter Island the types of films that keep you on the edge of your seat and make you want to re-watch to catch every little nuance.


(Still from Trespass - Axmo Deus)


If you had to survive one night up against a horror villain who would it be and why?


KJ - Excuse me… did you not hear when I said I’m an absolute coward? (laughs) What makes you think I’d survive against any horror villain? That’s the great thing about acting… you can play characters a lot braver and better at kicking horror villain butt than you.

Actually… on second thought - did you ever watch the 1957 black and white horror film I Was A Teenage Werewolf with Michael Landon in it? I’d pick that one. I could totally survive a night fighting an angry teenager in a fluffy werewolf costume. There is literally nothing scary about that. I could totally win that fight. Yeah - that’s the one I’d pick. Michael Landon’s werewolf alter ego in that film (laughs again).



Who or what inspires you the most?


KJ - I’m inspired by a lot of people and a lot of things. I think the biggest inspiration I have though is my family. I’ve been lucky enough to grow up surrounded by people who aren’t afraid to step out of their comfort zones and reinvent themselves when needed. My grandparents on both sides of my family had the courage to move to a whole new country and learn a whole new language after World War II. On top of that I am the daughter of two parents who I have seen change careers and step up to new challenges when they see the need countless times. I think having their example of facing discomfort head on, and just getting in and doing what has to be done, has been a huge inspiration in terms of how I approach my career and my life.

When it comes to my creative career in particular - I tend to be inspired by those who haven’t limited themselves to just one branch of the industry. People like Emma Thompson, Greta Gerwig, Jon Favreau, Reese Witherspoon - actors who have jumped on the other side of the camera as well and taken control of their own careers by writing, producing or directing.


(Still from The Home - Peacock Productions)


Where would you like to be in 5 years?


KJ - This is actually a hard question for me to answer right now. I think as an actor there is so much outside of your control that I find it hard to say where I’ll be acting-wise in 5 years. Where I end up in terms of the roles I’ll be playing is largely up to other people like casting directors, producers, or directors. I will say that there are a few writing projects of my own that I’m aiming to produce over the next few years.

Mostly though, in 5 years time I want to be working on projects both in front of and behind the camera that inspire and challenge me, and be doing that with good people who I enjoy working with. That’s the aim in a nutshell.



How has the Covid pandemic impacted your career?


KJ - I think that’s the hardest thing that has come out of this pandemic. The loss of opportunities and the increased uncertainty that now looms over an industry that has already always had a certain degree of uncertainty embedded within it.

I’m the type of person who is always jumping from one thing to the next - always on the go. Before the first Sydney lockdown I was in final dress rehearsals for Things I Know To Be True and suddenly that was shut down. That was devastating.

I think that the pandemic and the period of forced stillness that it gave me just reminded me that everything happens in God’s time and not mine. And when I accepted that I was able to see the opportunities that came with lockdown. Things like training institutions overseas that would have never been accessible to me suddenly offering online classes. For example, during the pandemic I was able to start training online at places like the American Arts, Film & Television Academy and the Ivana Chubbuck Studio. Both of these institutions in LA were on my list of places I wanted to study at, but if I had to go to America to do that in person it would have taken me at least a couple more years to be able to afford it.

I’m a big believer in the saying that “success is where preparation meets opportunity” so I decided to use the season of stillness that God was giving me during the pandemic to focus on training and preparing myself for the opportunities that would come when the industry eventually restarted.


(Behind the Scenes - The Home - Peacock Productions)


If you could give any woman/girl advice on starting out in a career in acting what would it be?


KJ - Embrace the uncertainty and go to as many classes as you can. Find the teachers that support and encourage you, and most importantly challenge you.

Maybe it’s my background as a basketball player, but I also think it’s important to view the industry as a team sport. When you start out it can often feel lonely and like it’s you against everyone else, but it really shouldn’t be. No film is made without a whole host of hands working in front of the camera and behind it. Go to classes, work on a crew, make an effort to meet people in different areas of the industry as well as other actors and find your tribe. When you do that and you’re able to connect with others and respect all the different facets of the industry it makes the harder times much more bearable.

Most importantly, don’t be afraid of saying no and walking away from something you know isn’t right for you. One of the most valuable pieces of advice I got from someone in the industry when I was just starting out was that “your career is built just as much by the things you say no to as the things you say yes to”. Sometimes it feels like if you say no and walk away from an opportunity you’ll never get another one. That isn’t true. Trust your gut. If it doesn’t feel right or you feel unsafe, walk away. In my experience, when that happens, God always sends another opportunity - and it’s usually one that is a lot better suited to you.


(Still from Trespass - Axmo Deus)


What movie or television series did you last watch?


KJ - My guilty pleasure answer that I probably shouldn’t admit to is the reality show Below Deck. My serious “I’m an actor and filmmaker so watch serious dramatic television” answer is Netflix’s Midnight Mass.

I think the most recent movie I watched was The Father with Anthony Hopkins and Olivia Coleman. That film is an absolute masterpiece.



What projects are you currently working on?


KJ - In terms of acting, things have been a little quiet, since I’m currently working on the crew of a Netflix series. I will be working on a couple of exciting projects in the next few months though - but I’m not able to talk about them yet.

Behind the camera I also have a few things in the works. A short film I wrote recently called Meet Cute will be starting it’s festival run. I wrote the script for a bunch of really talented actors based in Queensland and it’s a bit of a twist on the theme of “love at first sight”. I’m really excited for people to see it. Other than that I’m in early stages of pre-production for a few more scripts that will be filmed and produced here in Sydney over the next few months, as long as Covid pulls itself into line and minds it’s own business.



Where can our readers find out more about you?


KJ - I’m always happy to make new friends on Instagram - @katejirelle

Otherwise they can check out www.katejirelle.com to keep up with my acting work, and www.riegencreek.com to check out my upcoming production work.


Thank you for your time Kate.


67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page