top of page
Search

Oz Femme Fatale of Horror - Caitlin Koller.

We are celebrating Oz Femme Fatales of Horror month film maker Caitlin Koller.

I had the opportunity to ask this award winning, talented film director about her film 30 Miles from Nowhere, her career and all things horror.




Welcome Caitlin.

(Behind the scenes from 30 Miles from Nowhere)


CK – Thanks so much for having me.


Who or what inspires you?


CK – I am inspired by many things, primarily filmmakers, film festivals and the horror community. Some filmmakers whose horror comedy films inspire me are Sam Raimi, Takashi Miike, Alice Lowe, and Sean Byrne. I relish attending Monster Fest every year, which is Australia’s largest genre festival as they always source an amazing assortment of genre films. Plus, the opportunity it gives for meeting and talking with like-minded film fans always leaves me feeling reenergized about making films. When I’ve been to overseas film festivals, meeting other filmmakers who are passionate about what they do is inspiring, especially at female and non-binary horror film festivals such as Ax Wound Film Festival, Berlin Final Girls Film Festival and Sick Chick Flicks Film Festival, as they bring together such a supportive community of filmmakers and genre fans. In such company, it’s hard not to feel inspired by a shared passion and enthusiasm for making and watching horror films.



I absolutely loved your first feature film 30 Miles From Nowhere, how was the process of making your first feature film? Any advice for new film makers about to go down this path?


CK – Thank you, I’m so glad you enjoyed it. It was a whirlwind process for sure, I was offered the role of director and then in only a few months was over in the US directing it. I arrived one week before shooting started to do some pre-production work and location recces and was lucky enough to meet most of the cast and heads of department. However, I also met some of the principle cast on the day I was to direct them, which was a new experience for me, I am usually able to allocate some rehearsal time before a shoot starts. Also, coming from Australia, it was quite intimidating to be directing well known American television actors such as Carrie Preston (True Blood and Claws) and Rob Benedict (Supernatural). The production was a 14 day shoot over 16 days, which is a very tight schedule, but we managed to pull it off due to the cast and crew, I honestly had the best cast and crew a first-time filmmaker could ask for. Everyone was super enthusiastic, hardworking, and passionate about making this film the best it could be. After the shoot I went back to Australia and oversaw post-production including the editing, score, sound design and color grade, from Melbourne. We were lucky enough to have our World Premiere at Monster Fest 2019 and have since launched onto iTunes, Amazon Prime and Shudder. You can also buy a DVD from Amazon or if you’re feeling fancy, you could pick up the German Blu-ray release.

My advice for new filmmakers is treat everyone on set how you would like to be treated. Courtesy, thoughtfulness, thanks, and kindness goes a long way when interacting with your cast and crew. Also, gather as many people around you that are as passionate about filmmaking as you are and work with them. A vetting system also works well, as my producers Seana Kofoed and Kelly Demaret had a “no assholes” policy when hiring people for 30 Miles, which ensured we had a well-run, supportive, and fun set and I personally believe it worked.


(Carrie Preston & Caitlin Koller)


What was the last horror movie or series you watched?


CK – The last horror movie I watched in a theatre was Scream (2022) and I loved it. I’m a huge fan of the franchise and I thought directors Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett did an excellent job of getting the tone and pace right, plus the practical effects and vicious kills were well executed. I also though the writers James Vanderbilt and Guy Busick really nailed the dialogue and mystery elements. Of course, it was lovely to see Neve Campbell, Courteney Cox and David Arquette reprise their roles from the previous films, including them giving nods to some fan specific in-jokes. Having missed seeing movies in the theatre for some time due to the pandemic, it was a great to enjoy it in the cinema with an audience.


Why did you decide to become a film maker?


CK- I grew up being an avid film watcher, and on reflection I was a total movie nerd. In high school, I would re-watch films obsessively and even record the dialogue onto tapes so I could listen to it on my Walkman, at the time I thought this was normal behaviour. Once I finished high school, I went to Swinburne University to study film in the hopes of becoming a music video director, but I fell in love with narrative filmmaking. After university, I spent the next year submitting my Honours’ year short film Maid of Horror to as many film festivals as I could, and it managed to play at 23 festivals. I was lucky enough to see it play at its World Premiere at ‘Fright Night Horror Film Festival’ in Louisville, Kentucky. I took a few years to decide if filmmaking was really what I wanted to pursue as it seemed like such an insurmountable goal, as a young, female writer-director, especially in the horror genre. But after spending a year working in Japan, my appetite to get back into filmmaking grew and I resolved to do everything I could to make my dream a reality. From there I made Blood Sisters, which debuted at Stranger With My Face International Film Festival which is where I made the connections necessary to be asked to direct my first feature 30 Miles from Nowhere.


(Still from 30 Miles from Nowhere - Seana Kofoed, Marielle Scott, Rob Benedict)


Where would you like to be in 5 years?


CK – I would like to have written and directed at least two more feature films, one of them being my long-suffering passion project Slammer Savages, which is a post-apocalyptic, women in prison, cannibal film. I’d also love the opportunity to see those films play in some festivals or even have a wider release, as there’s nothing more gratifying than seeing an audience enjoy your work.


What are you currently working on?


CK - I’m currently co-writing an anthology horror feature with my writing partner Phillip Johnston and working on a teenage thriller-comedy script with my friend Caitlin Spiller. I’m also seeking funding for Slammer Savages.


How much has COVID impacted your film making?


CK - Covid has impacted my filmmaking in terms of production. I was set to start production on a short film in early 2020, but that was put on the backburner. There are quite a few short film scripts that I would like to shoot this year, in particular my urban legend short film Pencils Down, but time and monetary constraints mean that I will only get one or two made.


If you could remake any horror movie, what would it be and why?


CK – It’s probably sacrilegious to say, but I would love to remake Chopping Mall (1986). It was originally titled Killbots, which suits it more since there is no chopping in the film. Don’t get me wrong, I love Chopping Mall, the special effects are awesome, the kills are inventive, and Barbara Crampton and Dick Millers’ performances are some of the many reasons I revisit it, but if I got the chance to remake it, I’d make it in the vein of the title and add in some actual chopping.


Favorite horror villain and why?


CK – Great question! It’s a tie between Asami Yamazaki from Audition and Lola Stone from The Loved Ones. I love a twisted horror villainess who would torture, maim, and kill to find her soul mate. They also both have iconic looks, I’ve cosplayed in Lola’s monochromatic pink prom outfit and would love to do a black aproned Asami costume complete with needles one day.


Where can our readers find out more about you and watch your work?


CK – I’m on social media @raphaelitequeen and on Vimeo if you want to watch some of my previous short films. You can check out my feature film 30 Miles From Nowhere on iTunes, Shudder and Amazon Prime, or buy a DVD or Blu-ray.


If you could work on any horror franchise, what would it be and why?


CK – Tough call, but if I could work on any horror franchise, it would have to be Hellraiser. The first three films especially are so fantastical and have such a dark humour mixed with lots of gore and practical effects. Not to mention the incredible creature design of each individual cenobite. I also really love the depth and nuance that the female characters portray in the films, so I’d be in heaven if I could add to that cannon.


Finally, your Facebook profile says horror baker and film maker, what is your favourite thing to bake?


CK – My favourite horror thing to bake is human centipede gingerbread men. I got a custom cookie cutter made through Etsy and once iced, they look like the diagram from the film. They were a huge hit at Monster Fest in Melbourne in 2014, with Lloyd Kaufman of Troma Films and Matthew Kennedy and Conor Sweeney from Astron 6 enjoying them. They are also a conversation starter at family Christmas celebrations.


Thank you for being part of Oz Femme Fatales of Horror Month.





51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page