top of page
Search

David Black interviews Simay Argento for Oz Femme Fatales of Horror Month

Updated: Feb 15, 2022





I first met Simay on the set of “Cult Girls”, and then caught up with her soon after on the zombie feature, “The Last Hope.” Simay is a lady of many talents. She is big on the cosplay scene and an in demand photography model as well as being an accomplished actress. Today I have the pleasure of interviewing her.







DB – thanks for taking the time to chat to me today Simay. I’d like to start this off by asking you about your cosplay. I’ve seen that you have a particular character and have done a lot of work with the various conventions. Can you tell us a bit about this?


SA – Hello David, lovely chatting with you again and your welcome. Certainly, I have been cosplaying for about 7-8 years now. My main character that I have been known for is Catwoman.


I chose cat woman as I have a deep love for cats and DC overall, so as a child I’ve always admired Michelle Pfeiffer and remembered her role. I wanted to portray the character but in a unique and authentic costume and look.


So I have designed my costume very different, and I usually use 2-3 costume changes for various looks, weather conditions, occasions etc. I have attended Supanova, Comic Con, PAX, The Cat Lovers Show for a few years now. I have also travelled interstate to Adelaide for Supanova in 2018 which was an amazing experience with fellow cosplayer friends. I also work and get involved in a lot of charity related work within the cosplay field, which has been a blessing. So I participate in all organisations and events.






DB – Simay, I often see photoshoots that you’ve one. I can see that this is a big passion of yours.


SAI have been doing photography and modelling for a while now. I love photography and being behind the camera. I love the art that goes into the photography and seeing what the model can do with her/his talent.


I’m more character concept when it comes to photography, so I like to change my looks and characters all the time.I have done many shoots with various costumes, looks and themes over the years and have worked with some very talented photographers. I have also recently started doing my own photography, as I have my own camera and equipment which I love doing in my spare time. I find it very soothing, relaxing, creative, artistic and enjoyable.






DB – Now, onto the film work! We’ve worked on a few films together, so I wanted to ask you about “Dark Metamorphosis”. Although it is a short, you are on screen the whole time and did your own costuming and make up for two separate characters. I’ve always been curious as to how you approached all of this?


SA –With Dark Metamorphosis, I didn’t seem to have too much trouble doing this as I had the two costumes, wigs, make up all prepare beforehand. So I roughly had in mind how I would change and switch allowing me enough time that is.


I think with years of experience with dance and performing, it kind of already becomes natural with doing make up and costume changing. So this wasn’t too complicated however if you don’t have enough lighting and space for make-up and costume changing that can be a struggled at times.






DB – We also worked on one film that was done live on stage for “Obsessions of a Shattered Psyche.” I know that this isn’t your only stage work. Can you tell us about this and any other stage work that comes to mind?


SA – When it comes to stage work, I was recently working on a panel at a cosplay convention last year December on stage. I have also performed musical theatre shows as a young child again on stage. I have performed with many various talented singers/artists on stages, over the years at different venues, & entertainment centres.






DB – You have an impressive portfolio of varied work behind you, so I am sure that you can move in many different directions. What are your future plans?


SA – Future Plans is to travel to the states, late this year if all goes to plan. Due to the last 2 years with the pandemic it has been difficult for myself and anyone in the entertainment and arts industry. So I hope and plan to travel sometime last this year, where I can land some work and see what doors open. I also plan to get more involved in charity work for children but also involved with cat foundations and helping save cats. These 2 qualities I have always had my heart set on as I love children and animals deeply.




DB – Thanks for taking the time to chat to me today Simay. Where can our readers follow your work?


SA –


79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page