top of page
Search

David Black interviews Melanie Kuhn for Oz Femme Fatales of Horror Month



I’m thrilled to be interviewing Melanie Kuhn today for Oz Femme Fatales of Horror Month. Melanie is multi skilled in that she is an actress, musician and photographer. I know a bit about her acting because she has been in a few of my films. Today, I want to find out more.


DB – Hi Melanie, thanks for taking the time to chat to me today. I’m going to ask you first about your photography. Although I’ve known you for over 20 years, I had no idea about your work until you hired me as a model for a shoot for the end of year meeting of some of the photography groups in Melbourne. There must have been 200 or more photographers there! You must have been into this for quite some time!


MK – Hi David, Thank you for having me as part of this.


I have had an interest in photography for a very long time but my first official foray into photography was when I purchased my first DSLR in 2013. I spent the next several years devoting every spare minute I had to improving my skills and in 2019 I successfully gained distinctions through FIAP (The international federation of photographic art) and The Australian Photographic society. After working so hard towards gaining these distinctions I gave myself and extended break!!


That photo shoot was a lot of fun. It was part of the Victorian Association of Photographic Societies. A convention is held each year and at this particular convention I was in charge of arranging a themed photoshoot for the attendees. The theme chosen was of course steampunk and I knew you would be a great model!!




DB – Once again, I feel a bit embarrassed about having known you for so long but still knowing very little about you. I remember that you were a singer in a hard rock band. Can you tell me more about that?


MK – I was the front woman for a heavy metal band from approximately 2003-2013. I was the singer/screamer of the band. Think Arch Enemy meets Killswitch Engage. We were lucky enough over the years to play some really big and tremendously epic shows. We were a support act for Psycroptic and even got to play at a metal wedding!!


I have only dabbled in music since then. I have recorded a few tracks with some friends but nothing too serious. I remember doing a few gigs with your band Darkness Visible, they were always great nights.




DB – Now … onto your acting! I remember seeing you at the zombie training for “The Last Hope.” It was the first time I had seen you in years. The time before was at a Games Workshop painting competition with some very dark miniatures. What got you into acting?


MK – I actually saw a post you made calling for extras for “The Last Hope”. I signed up for it as the highlight of my year every year was participating in the Melbourne zombie shuffle. Dressing up as a zombie for the day and being in a film was right up my alley.


I like to step outside my comfort zone and challenge myself. If an opportunity comes up I usually ask myself, if I say no, will I regret missing this opportunity down the line and if the answer is yes, I make an effort to participate. Another question I ask myself often is “What would Bowie do”? David Bowie was (and still is) one of my biggest idols. He wasn’t afraid to take risks and do what his heart told him.




DB – The first film I had you on was “The Road to Hell is still Undefined.” That was more of an extra role, but you shone out and worked your way up to being one of the girl gangers in “Game of Groans”, and even filmed your own scene in “Toxic Alien Zombie Babes from Outer Space.” Tell me about your journey in acting so far.


MK – After “The Last Hope”, I saw another of your posts talking about your next shoot which was “The Road to Hell is Still Undefined”. As it was a steampunk shoot and I had a fair few pieces of steampunk clothing and props, I contacted you to see of you could use any of it and you offered me a role as an extra. I of course love steampunk and again it was an opportunity to do something different so I jumped at the chance.


“Toxic alien zombie babes from outer space”, was super fun to film. I got to play a little with fake blood, I got to film my own scenes from different angles using some of my photography skills and during covid lockdowns it was a great little project to be involved with.


I had an absolute ball on the set of Game of groans. It’s been great being part of these experiences and I am very grateful for the opportunities you have given me.




DB – Melanie, with all your artistic skills, I have to ask you … what are your future plans?


MK – My plans change so often even I find it hard to keep a track of where I am going. I want to get back into creating more photographically speaking, there are a few music projects I’m involved with but nothing too serious. For now I am happy to take opportunities as they come as see where life takes me. In the immortal words of the legend that is David Bowie, “I don't know where I'm going from here, but I promise it won't be boring”.




DB – Thanks for taking the time to chat to me today Melanie. Where can our readers follow your work?


MK – Thank you very much for having me David!!

My photography website is: https://aydindrilstudios.com

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page