top of page
Search

David Black interviews Anastasia C Kouloukas for OFFoHM



It’s always a pleasure to interview Anastasia C Kouloukas. I’ve worked with her on a number of films and interviewed her a few times, but this time is special. Why? Because it’s Oz Femme Fatales of Horror Month and Anastasia has distinguished herself in the field over the last couple of years.




DB – Hi Anastasia. Thanks for taking the time to chat to me today. I’m going to launch right into this. You’ve been recognised for your work as a scream queen internationally over the last couple of years. You’ve been on podcasts such as “Donna Jean’s Coffee House of Horror” and have been interviewed on various blogs.


Normally, when people think of a scream queen, they envision a hot looking chick, screaming in terror, while being chased by a monster. You’ve turned this cliché` on its’ head entirely by being the one who makes other people scream! What are your thoughts on this?


AK – Hi David, it’s a pleasure to speak to you again. Thank you for having me.

I love the fact that I’ve turned the “Scream Queen” cliche on its head, as that is quite an achievement as I hope to have more opportunities to scare viewers with each film I make.






DB – OK, let’s take this back to the first film I can think of, where it’s you that makes others scream in terror. Sinister Symbiosis! This film has recently come out as an extra on the Philia anthology DVD from Darkside Releasing. Tell us about your character.


AK – “Anastasia” or “Dark Anastasia” as she’s known in my head, is an independent dominatrix, self taught torturer, and utterly ruthless in getting her way. She is also sexy in a terrifying way, with her strength, physicality and her way of being. As a character, she is the personification of my literal Shadow self.




DB – You have a new film out called “Game of Groans”. You play a gang leader called Annabashya, who, once again, makes others do the screaming! Without giving away any spoilers, can you tell us about it?


AK – Annabashya is a sexy, swaggering blackberry. She is intimidating as all hell and uses her physical beauty and sensuality as tools to get what she wants. She loves a good fight, but only if she sees you as a worthy opponent, otherwise just play dead and hope she doesn’t see you.




DB – You also play the lead character, Shazza, in Badass Bunyip. Once again, Shazza is no feeble female running from a monster. Shazza is different to Anastasia and Anabashya in that she doesn’t come across as the dominant character, yet at the same time, she certainly isn’t subservient either. Tell us a bit about her.


AK – Shazza was definitely a fun character to play as she was a someone that I’ve never played before. I’d say the difference is that she’s a quietly dominant character, you don’t notice until the action revolves around her.


She’s as laid back as a Lazy Boy, somewhat quietly intelligent and subtly manipulative when it comes down to saving her own skin.




DB – Well Anastasia, we are coming toward the end of our interview. So far, I’ve survived and you haven’t made me scream …. yet. Can I ask you about your future plans?


AK – Of course! I’m way more scary on screen than off it. My plans are to stay as scary as possible on film and hopefully TV later on.


I’ve got a few more things in the pipeline in various stages of pre-production and production, such as short films (horror and other genres), a multigenre tv/web series ( if not delayed); and presenting a YouTube variety channel (if not delayed), where I'll also be appearing in content in a selection of genres!




DB – Thanks for taking the time to chat to me Anastasia, and for being a part of Oz Femme Fatales of Horror Month. Where can our readers follow your work?





21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page