top of page
Search

Australian Women in Horror Special - Pyper Stancer


Pyper Stancer is starring as Lucy Westenra in the Fremantle Performing Arts adaption of Bram Stoker's Dracula in April. Lucy Westenra is a fictional character in the 1897 novel, the 19-year-old daughter of a wealthy family, she is Mina Murray's best friend and Dracula's first English victim.

We had the opportunity to ask Pyper questions about her career and horror in general.


Welcome Pyper to The Australian Film Network and honouring Aussie Women in Horror


Pyper - Thank you, I’m glad to take part.



Can you tell us how you got into acting?


Pyper - Well I first started acting in Year 5 when I was 11, in a small class production about astronauts, and then in Year 11 I was stage hand for their Variety Show, and Year 12 I was MC for the show. After that I decided to make acting a career of mine. Since then, I have done short

films, a music video an animation and 2 stage productions, one is soon to commence.


What is your favourite Australian horror film and why?


Pyper - I would have to say Wolf Creek, mainly because it’s based on a true story, those

of which always interest me, but the story in general.


How long have you known that you wanted to follow down this career path, and who or what inspires you to do so?


Pyper - I have wanted to pursue this career for a while now, since my first time performing.

I have a lot of inspiration, different artists around the world and here. Their tales to

fame, some who haven’t had much in life keep my hopes going.



You are currently playing Lucy in a stage adaption of Dracula. Can you tell us about this production and how it is going?


Pyper - It’s going alright, we have had a few hiccups along the way. Originally I was the

Understudy for the role of ‘Lucy’ but was given the main after the original cast

member left. Due to the recent events of the virus, our show was postponed until

April.


Did you research the character of Lucy before embarking on the play? Did you watch movies, read

the book etc?


Pyper - Yes I researched her quite a bit. Like a self lesson of history, of which I will

always enjoy doing. I watched a few different versions of it, and I also added my

own touch to it. I read the book a while ago in school.



What draws you to horror?


Pyper - The special effects, the scares, the stories, pretty much all of it draws me in.


Is there anything you fear? Do you have phobias?


Pyper - I always think that everyone has at least one fear, for me it’s one that many have,

Arachnophobia, the fear of spiders. I also have a strange fear of Train Track

Crossings. You’ll find me running across them as fast as I can if I have to

cross them.


What projects are you currently working on, besides Dracula?


Pyper - Well one of my recent projects are soon to be released, a comedy animation. Apart

from that, nothing new at this stage, Although I have been confirmed to be in a play

next year by a friend from theatre who has his own company, and I have

some auditions to attend.



If you could be in a remake of any horror film, what would it be and what character would you be?


Pyper - That’s a difficult one to think about, but I would have to say perhaps a remake of ‘Sleepy

Hollow’ or a live action of ‘Corpse Bride’ for I think that would be a great film to make.


Do you think you are more comfortable on stage or is film what you inspire to?


Pyper - Personally I like both Stage and Film. I love the reactions of the crowd during a stage

performance and I also love seeing the reactions for films.


With acting in horror, do you feel you lean more towards the darker characters or are you happier in the light?


Pyper - Well my character ’Lucy’, if people know the story, she is a light character at first, but turns dark. I love playing different characters, it’s a new experience each time, but I

kinda like the dark characters more.



If you had to be a werewolf, zombie, vampire or ghost, what would you choose and why?


Pyper - If I think of it Logically, A Werewolf would be a better choice for me. Vampires can’t

go in the sun, zombies would just rot and eat brains, and ghosts are dead so it wouldn’t

help much, but werewolves are strong, and pretty cute to be honest. The only bad thing would be the fleas.


Your favourite sub genre of horror?


Pyper - I find Psychological Horror to be my favourite, mainly the storyline’s to each film

intrigue me.



Last television show you binged?


Pyper - I recently finished the mini series of ‘Barkskins’ based on the book. It’s got a lot of

realistic gore and all that, so it was quite a good one.


Where would you like to see yourself in 5 years?


Pyper - I have a goal to be working on films around the UK and around Australia.


Any interesting facts about you?


Pyper - Well, I have two great ancestors, one is Spike Milligan, the Irish comedian who is my

Great Uncle, and King Richard III of England, my 21 x Great Uncle. Hence for my

love of both History and Acting.


If you want to see Pyper treading the floor boards as Lucy then click on the link below to book tickets (WA based) and check out the trailer below.





45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page